[Systems] Revert wiki changes

Chris Leonard cjlhomeaddress at gmail.com
Sun Feb 21 20:10:41 EST 2010

The best way to revert page moves is to do it from the page move log, where
a revert link for each move is created.  FGrose has taken care of this

I've looked at the logs, but unfortunately I am not seeing the sort of log
entry I am used to seeing on wiki.l.o

The entry I'm looking for shows the IP address from which a user logs on.
It is there on wiki.l.o but not on wiki.sl.o

In any event, I will bet dollars-to donuts that this is from one of a series
of IP address ranges in the UK.  This is almost certainly the same vandal
that has made numerous attacks on wiki.l.o .  Several of the IP ranges
mapped back to Sky Broadband, where a whois provided no abuse contact.

In several instances, the IP range mapped back to one of the UK County
council authorities, and I initiated a correspondence (with the knowledge of
OLPC staff) with their sysadmin team.   As is the way of these things, the
vandal quieted down for a while, only to re-emerge later.

My recommendation is to initiate the logging of which IP address is used to
log in on wiki.sl.o.  It must be some MediaWiki option or plug-in.  When you
have that information, you can identify the ISP with whois-by-IP look-up.
At that point, you can either initiate contact with the ISP, or go radical
and institute a range block on that ISP.  Be warned, this particular vandal
has come in from at least 4 different Class C addresses, so you may have to
block a fair number of IP addresses from the UK to be effective.


On Sun, Feb 21, 2010 at 7:10 PM, Bernie Innocenti <bernie at codewiz.org>wrote:

> On Sun, 2010-02-21 at 23:06 +0000, Aleksey Lim wrote:
> > Hi all,
> >
> > Does someone know how to revert all changes that were made by particular
> > user. I guess revert all last changes by hads would be painful.
> Patrol already blocked the spammer, but I'd be curious to know the IP of
> this spammer.
> --
>   // Bernie Innocenti - http://codewiz.org/
>  \X/  Sugar Labs       - http://sugarlabs.org/
> _______________________________________________
> Systems mailing list
> Systems at lists.sugarlabs.org
> http://lists.sugarlabs.org/listinfo/systems
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://lists.sugarlabs.org/private/systems/attachments/20100221/c0e8d7a2/attachment.htm 

More information about the Systems mailing list