[Sugar-devel] Potential data loss problem in collaboration
sridhar at laptop.org.au
Mon Jun 20 10:37:13 EDT 2011
We have found a problem that could lead to data loss in the field.
A shares an activity
B connects to A's shared instance
Collaborative work is done by A and B
A closes the activity
B continues to work on the activity (maybe they didn't realise
that A has left)
A shares again
Everything B has worked on since A left the first time is lost
This example uses the Write activity, but it can happen with any activity:
A begins activity
A types something (text is “AA” now)
A shares the activity
B joins activity
B types something (text is “AABB” now)
A closes activity (Text saved in A’s journal is AABB)
B continues to write something (text is “AABBCC” now)
B also closes activity (Text saved in B’s journal is AABBCC)
Now B opens the same activity from B’s journal. B is able to see
the text AABBCC now.
B closes the activity.
Now A opens the activity from journal. Text is AABB now.
A shares the activity again.
B joins the activity from the neighbourhood view since it is
shared. Text in B’s XO is AABB now.
A and B close the activity.
Now when B opens the activity from the journal again, only AABB is
seen (text CC is lost).
One Laptop per Child Australia
M: +61 425 239 701
E: sridhar at laptop.org.au
A: G.P.O. Box 731
Sydney, NSW 2001
More information about the Sugar-devel